Oh the Lengths We Will Go…For Stuff and Perfection.

These are two of my required viewings for my Electronic Media Studio.

The Story of Stuff   http://www.storyofstuff.com/

The Story of Stuff is a video about where our products come from, what it takes to make these products, and what happens to them when we’re done with them.  From the forests to the landfill.

Last night I went out to the movies with my best friend to see District 9.  It’s one of those movies where aliens come to live on Earth.  Honestly…I was less scared watching bunch of aliens tear a human to shreds than when I watched The Story of Stuff.  It’s scares the heck out of me when I think about how much our country is consuming and how much waste we produce.  I start having fantasies about being an old women and telling my grandchildren about a time when trees were everywhere not just in parks.  I’m sitting underneath a tree right now writing this blog and worrying that it’s gonna be cut down cause we’ve used up all of the rain forests! …ok.  I know I’m exaggerating, but the thought that we could run out of sufficient natural resources before we die is frightening to say the least.  If nothing else, it makes me wanna go recycle my water bottle.

The aspect of this movie that I really appreciated was that as soon as the video was done, a link popped up that said “Click Here For 10 Recommendations For Another Way.”  THANK YOU!  I was thrilled to find that they didn’t just complain about a problem, but actually offered up a list of possible solutions.

No Logos http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=2343596870021245516#

No Logos is about anti-corporate resistance.  Basically, it’s showing the negative affects of globalization and how it’s basically prompting a race to the bottom (meaning that companies are trying to sell their product at the lowest prices and trying to pay their employees the least).  It’s broken down into 3 parts:  No space.  No choice.  No job.

One of the interesting portions of the video was when they talked about the America’s sacred place of gathering.  The summit.  The throne.  The epitomy of American culture.  The almighty mall!  The mall is the true heart beat of these logos and corporations.  It is a way of life.  You walk in a mall and it tells you that your clothes aren’t cool enough.  Your shoes aren’t shiny enough.  Your skin isn’t smooth enough.  YOU aren’t enough.  Fortunately, all of your problems can be solved.  All you have to do is BUY BUY BUY!!!!  Perfection is yours with the swipe of a credit card.

…Now I don’t know about you…but if buying useless objects and wasting tons of natural resources is what it takes to be perfect, then I’m not so sure that I’d want perfection.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

